What is Triple Crown accreditation?

Association of MBAs Accredited Logo AACSN Accredited Institution Accredited Logo EFMD EQUIS Accredited Logo

Triple Crown accreditation is a combination of accreditations granted by the three largest and most influential business school accreditation organisations across the world.

They are the Associate to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (USA), the Association of MBAs (UK), and the European Quality Improvement System (EU).

Less than 1% of business schools worldwide have been recognised with a Triple Crown accreditation. Bayes Business School (formerly Cass) is one of just 20 business schools in the UK to currently hold the accreditation.

"When I spoke to Bayes, or Cass as they were at that point, I knew they had a really strong reputation in the MBA space. "

Ed Jennings, Global MBA student

How does it benefit you?

  • AACSB, EQUIS and AMBA are three of the most highly regarded international accreditations for business schools - you know your education will meet the highest quality standards.
  • The Triple Crown can help you narrow down your list of potential business schools to those you know have gone through rigorous accreditation processes.
  • Accreditation is not simply awarded and then kept forever – schools are required to apply for reaccreditation every few years. Therefore, institutes need to maintain consistently high standards.
  • Potential employers will know that a Triple Crown-accredited business school on your CV means that you have received exceptional teaching.
  • The Triple Crown accreditation is known worldwide – your degree will be recognised wherever you want to work in the world.

How does the accreditation process work?

It can take several years for a business school to achieve accreditation.

The three institutions assess business schools according to their different criteria and scope. Their accreditation panels typically include deans, associate deans, programme directors, and business school administrators.

To achieve accreditation, a business school will send information on its programmes and processes to the accreditation body. After reviewing the information, the accreditation panel then spends time at the school. As part of their assessment, the panel will talk to people at every level of the business school – from board members to lecturers to students.

When a business school receives Triple Crown accreditation from AACSB, AMBA, and EQUIS, it means they have met three sets of rigorous, international quality standards. Triple Crown accreditation has been awarded to only 90 business schools globally, out of more than 13,670 schools offering business degree programmes worldwide.

The accreditation bodies

AACSB – The Associate to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (USA)

Regarded as the benchmark for high-quality business school education, AACSB assesses schools on everything from strategic management and innovation, to academic and professional engagement.

All of an institution’s business and management programmes must be reviewed in order to achieve accreditation. AACSB’s aim is to challenge business schools to pursue excellence and continuous improvement in their programmes.

AMBA – The Association of MBAs (UK)

AMBA accredits a business school’s MBA programmes specifically, allowing them to examine course details in depth. Their focus is on a business school’s impact, employability, and learning outcomes.

AMBA-accredited business schools only admit MBA applicants with at least three years of full-time, postgraduate work experience and they also require substantial interaction between faculty and students.

EQUIS – The European Quality Improvement System (EU)

EQUIS accredits business schools based on their general quality of education, rather than specific programmes. Their focus is on a business school’s academic quality, interaction with the corporate world, and internationalisation. They require international diversity on both the governing and advisory boards of their accredited business schools.